online booking

Loughborough Student... Loughborough Students RFC

A historic win, a bonus point and moving upwards in the league for Nat 1 side!


  1. Ricci Brugnara 2. Isaac Miller (C) 3. Ben Betts 4. James Lasis 5. Simon Pitfield 6. Mat Macpherson 7. Andrew Boyce 8. Charlie Kingham 9. Harry Simmons 10. Josh Sharp (VC) 11. Austin Beckett 12. Gair Currie 13. Jordan Olowofela 14. Yiannis Loizias 15. Will Edwards Replacements: 16. Ollie Adams 17. Ben Christie 18. Conor Gracey 19. Sam Pointon 20. Jack Stapley



  1. James Penman 2. Christopher Wood 3. Ralph Appleby 4. Talite Vaioleti 5. Jack Jones 6. Joe Craggs 7. Callum Mackenzie 8. Rory Duff 9. Timothy Duchesne 10. Caolan Ryan 11. Adam Radwan 12. Christopher Auld. 13. Benjamin Frankland 14. Joel Gill 15. James Barnard 16. Gareth Nesbitt 17. Lorenzo Cemicetti 18. James Fitzpatrick 19. Joshua Bragman 20. Sebastian-Andreas Freydell




Tries – Beckett 15, Currie 23, 71, Edwards 34

Conversions – Sharp 16, 24, 72

Penalties –  Sharp 3

Yellow Card – Simon Pitfield 54



Tries – Fitzpatrick 55, 65

Conversions – Ryan 57, 65

Penalties –

Yellow Card – Joel Gill 33, James Penman 61


HT: 22-0

Referee: Jamie Leahy

Attendance: 207

Star Man: Gair Currie


After last week’s win away against Old Albanian the team in purple were in high spirits and ready to take on 6th place Darlington Mowden Park. In the first half, Loughborough were the more dominant side, putting 22 points on DMP, but in the second half, the away side gained 14 point through sheer determination. It was Loughborough Students, however, whom came out on top.

In the first few minutes of the match, Loughborough looked dangerous as they charged towards DMP’s try line but a knock on just short of the line saw Loughborough denied a score.  At the first scrum DMP absolutely dominated with some great chat from Timothy Duchesne.

The first points of the match came from a penalty against DMP and Josh Sharp sailed the ball through the posts taking Loughborough 3 points up. Eight minutes later, Ricci Brugnara broke through the line which saw Austin Beckett score the first try of the match. Ten minutes after scoring their first try, Loughborough got their second. After some strong running and offloading outside their own 22, Gair Currie puts the ball down over the line. Sharp converted.

Thirty-three minutes in, Joel Gill from DMP got sent off for foul play, one of three cards to be shown throughout the game.

Before the end of the second half, Will Edwards runs in Loughborough’s third try but was not converted.

Half time: Loughborough 22- 0 Darlington Mowden Park

Loughborough were the ones to kick off the second half. The game became a scrappy one, as possession and territory were unstable for both sides.

Simon Pitfield, James Lasis and Charlie Kingham were dominating the lineout and Andrew Boyce put in some hard hits in defence. In terms of attack Loughborough’s Yiannis Loizias and Gair Currie looked dangerous and DMP’s Adam Radwan exploited his speed, gaining a lot of ground for the side.

After a penalty was given against DMP for not rolling away sparked a fight between the teams. Loughborough’s Simon Pitfield was sin-binned for foul play. Now one man down, DMP exploited their overlap and James Fitzpatrick ran in their first try of the game. The conversion was also made.

Sixty-one minutes in, the third and final sin bin of the game was handed to James Penman, also for foul play. This did not stop DMP, as Fitzpatrick scored another try bringing the score to 22-14.

It was Loughborough however who had the final say, as Gair Currie scored a spectacular team try, again running from inside their own half. This fourth score earned Loughborough the bonus point. Sharp converted.

Final Score: Loughborough 29-14 Darlington Mowden Park